Back in May, google announced a set of new updates for securing google workspace users and admins from cyber threats and abuses. One of these features allows google drive users to block another drive user. The good news is that the new feature is also available in free accounts.
Google drive sharing policy was so simple that it had no restriction or second layer of confirmation. As per the latest feature, users can block another user by pressing the “block” option. Once you block someone in google drive, he will be restricted from “sharing files” with you.
Blocking a particular Google account on Drive might also end up blocking it on other Google services in one way or another.