NISCAIR joins the International Year of the Periodic Table celebrations

The year 2019, the 150th year of the invention of the periodic table by Dmitri Mendeleev has been proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly as the International Year of the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements. Year-long celebrations are planned across the world to celebrate the invention of the periodic table. CSIR-NISCAIR joined the celebrations by organizing a science film screening-cum-interactive session on the periodic table on 25 January 2019.

 Dr. D.K. Aswal, Director, National Physical Laboratory who was the Chief Guest of the function explained the science behind the creation of new elements and about the efforts underway in different parts of the world to create new elements by fusing atoms of different elements.

 The film screening was followed by an interactive session with the audience engaging in a free flowing discussion about the film and Dr. Aswal enlightening the gathering with interesting nuggets of information about the discovery and creation of elements.

 Dr. Manoj Kumar Patairiya, Director, CSIR-NISCAIR who chaired the session said that the inaugural film screening at NISCAIR is part of the many new initiatives undertaken towards science communication by the institute.

 Earlier, giving an overview of the film, Dr. G. Mahesh, Head, Information and Human Resource Division (IHRD) informed that the National Science Foundation funded the 2015 film, ‘Mystery of Matter: Search for the Elements’ is a three part American science documentary. He gave a brief on each of the three parts and said that the second part of the film, titled ‘Unruly Elements’ which is on the invention of the periodic table by Dmitri Mendeleev has been chosen for the screening.

 The packed event was attended by researchers and scientists from NISCAIR, CSIR-TKDL, CSIR-IPU, JNU, Indian Institute of Mass Communication and media personnel.

 Mr. Mukesh Pund, Senior Principal Scientist, IHRD welcomed the gathering and Mr. Yatish Panwar, Senior Technical Officer, IHRD proposed the vote of thanks.

Related posts

Leave a Comment